ConceptKCTCS/KCTCSConcept News Item | Somerset Community College


Nov 26, 2012 - | 11:51 AM -

Eighteen faculty and staff members selected from throughout the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) will participate in President Michael B. McCall’s 2013 President's Leadership Seminar (PLS) beginning in January.

The seminar promotes and strengthens leadership traits among KCTCS faculty and staff in an effort to advance the System’s 16 community and technical colleges, as well as each participant’s personal and professional goals.

"This annual leadership program offers select faculty and staff a unique experience to learn from the top community college experts in the nation. It is designed to not only enhance their skills, but to also create strong KCTCS leadership for the future,” said KCTCS President Michael B. McCall.

This unique professional development experience explores such broad-ranging issues as leadership traits, national issues and trends, professionalism, media relations and customer service.

Participants will have opportunities to interact with community college leaders in Kentucky and from across the nation to learn about leadership challenges facing higher education. There will be a variety of forums for the participants to engage with these leaders from January through June, providing them with skills that can be applied when they return to their campuses.

To be eligible for the seminar, faculty and staff members from the colleges must be nominated by their college presidents. Dr. McCall makes the final selection of the class.

The 2013 PLS class includes by college:

Ashland Community and Technical College
- Kevin Coots, Professor

Big Sandy Community and Technical College
- Leslie Fossit, Instructor

Bluegrass Community and Technical College 
- Bruce Manley, Campus Director, Winchester
Bowling Green Technical College
- Jennifer Shoemake, Associate Professor

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College 
- Michael Hazzard, Associate Professor

Gateway Community and Technical College 
- Tess Burns, College Web Services Manager

Hazard Community and Technical College 
- Bryan Swafford, Instructor

Henderson Community College
- Andy Zellers, Director of Financial Aid

Hopkinsville Community College 
- Melissa Stevenson, Registrar

Jefferson Community and Technical College
- Angela Cox, Director of External Education Program
- Orlando Gonzalez, Associate Professor

Madisonville Community College
- Stephanie Taylor, Associate Professor

Maysville Community and Technical College
- Donna Slone-Crumbie, Assistant Professor

Owensboro Community and Technical College
- Mary Kinney, Coordinator of Academic Affairs

Somerset Community College
- Jamie Foster, Instructor

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College
- Mike Good, Professor

West Kentucky Community and Technical College
- Jipaum Askew-Robinson, Director of Cultural Diversity

System Office
- Philip Brashear, System Director of Change and Project Management